skip to Main Content

Professional Practice

YCSS professional practices are delivered from a therapeutic approach using our Trauma Informed Framework.

The YCSS Trauma Informed Framework was developed from the incorporation of a number of therapeutic models and is a dynamic and innovative model that incorporates 5 phases of trauma informed practice, including prevention and early intervention. This therapeutic residential and practice support guide, assists the young person and or persons and their families to work through a planned approach, utilising differing interventions tailored to the needs of the young person and or their families.

Based on research, our Trauma Informed Framework gives our Care Team the flexibility to prescribe and tailor an intervention or an approach that will support the needs and wishes of the young person, achieve outcomes and align with their own professional practice framework.

The Trauma Informed Framework recognises that packaged care is a transitional arrangement whereby the care incorporates a process of early intervention, stabilisation and transitioning back into their family and/or mainstream care arrangements and the need for ongoing support.

The model incorporates this with a practice approach that links the task and process and practice in line with the appropriate phase. The framework is duly recognised as a time limited prevention and/or a transitional model with primary attention of assisting the young person to have a sense of safety, security and a voice in their individual journey.  The model focuses on enhancing early intervention processes and developing strategies and tools to support parents and families and to keep children/young people at home, wherever possible or support the transition to long term secure placement options that meet the individual need.

The 5 Phases of our Trauma Informed Framework
Phase 1 - Family preservation and restoration/ prevention and early intervention
Phase 2 - Intake and assessment
Phase 3 - Stabilisation/ focused intervention
Phase 4 - Transitional planning/ resiliency
Phase 5 - Beyond care and family placement
Back To Top